Why Is Meditation Important?

I meet a lot of people socially in NYC. One of the questions I ask after getting to know them a bit is if they meditate. Thinking about it now, I suppose my intention of asking that question is twofold: first, I want to see if they’re aware of the spiritual realm, second, I want to know if they are able to declutter their minds. If the answer I receive is “no” it does not necessarily mean that the individual and I have nothing in common. Rather, it reveals an opportunity for me to explain the benefits of which as I am about to do here!

I have heard people say, “Prayer is when you talk to God and meditation is when God talks to you.” I’ve never heard anything more ridiculous. If you’re aware of the powers held within your subconscious mind, both prayer and meditation are different words for the same idea.

From the previous lesson I want to remind you that God is not an old man in the sky randomly blessing and cursing people. Rather, God is an energy, the life force, available for any of us to tap in to at any time, in anyway. This energy feeds back to us what we feed it with our subconscious minds (i.e. if we think good, good follows, if we think evil, evil follows).

Now I am sure some of you are thinking, “I think positively all the time and I never am able to change my current circumstances.”

The reason why is because it is your subconscious mind that brings about change in your life. Whatever is repeating constantly in your subconscious mind is displayed in your screen of space. If, for instance, you were brought up with horrible parents that told you you were stupid, or ugly, all the time Рit is more than likely that these and other negative ideas are constantly repeating in your subconscious mind all day, and whether you want them to or not, they are affecting your ENTIRE LIFE!

Now here is why meditation/prayer is so important – it gives you the chance to reprogram your subconscious mind. When we are able to relax our bodies into a suggestive state (remember, take five deep breaths, close your eyes, then repeat to yourself – “I am divinely guided, divinely protected, and everything is mine.”) our subconscious mind imprints our repeated thought on itself. The more we do this, the deeper it is ingrained. The deeper it is ingrained, the faster our lives change for the better.

Meditation/prayer allows us a channel to the Divine – a way for us to reconnect to Source. It is a way for us to communicate and align our thought to the infinite intelligence which thereby responds by changing your experience by means of experiences, new people, or situations.

You can start with a guided meditation. Check the app store on your phone. Reach out with questions.

 

For more follow us on Instagram: @outwityourself

 

Leave a Reply

