Two Questions

You have two questions to ask yourself before things will get better in your life.

First it is imperative that you are able to identify yourself as a system. Let’s explore that… the same way that the food you eat gives your body energy needed to function, the thoughts you think provide the energy that is used for your perception of the world.

Dietary choices are a whole other thing, and although extremely important, we’ll explore that further down the line. For now, let’s concentrate on the latter; your mind and the thoughts you think.

Starting here – considering your mind as the computer mainframe for the system that is yourself and your life – we want to ask ourselves the following when attempting to improve conditions in our lives:

  1. What is the major weakness of my system?
  2. How can this weakness be strengthened?

For some of you, answering these questions may be an easy task, for others… not so much. Let me help.

Any negative thought patterns you can identify can be attributed as weaknesses. This includes, but is not limited to, ideas about yourself (i.e. I’m not smart enough, there are others better than I), ideas about people (i.e. He’s an asshole because he’s mean to me, She’s petty and not worth my time), ideas about money (i.e. money is the root of all evil, in order to be rich you have to deceive someone), ideas about life (i.e. I am the way I am because of my upbringing and there’s nothing I can do about it, my life is crappy because of what so-and-so did), etc.

You might not even realize you are having these thoughts because they are so ingrained in your everyday thinking that they go by relatively unnoticed. This is okay. Knowing what you do now, you’ll be able to better identify them and begin to deconstruct them.

Here’s the plan:

  • Identify the negative thought(s)
  • Write it down
  • Go through the list and establish what the flipside to that thought is
    • In other words, find where the positivity is in the statement
    • For example:
      • “I’m not smart enough” = There are websites and books I can browse to further my knowledge on this subject
      • “He’s an asshole because he’s mean to me” = He has limited self awareness, how can I be sure I don’t make the same mistake
      • “Money is the root of all evil” = What are the good things I can do to help people with the money I do have?
      • “I am the way I am because of my upbringing” = If I were now raising myself as a child, what would I have done differently? How can I be sure I give that to myself now?
  • Give thought to this activity and what it has revealed to you
  • Meditate with the following mantra:
    • I am love
    • Peace flows through me
    • I can always achieve what I want

 

Outwit Yourself

3 thoughts on “Two Questions

Leave a Reply

